Business Card Via InDesign

Standard

I recently designed a personal business card. I decided to create it from scratch, using Adobe InDesign, which is an incredibly useful tool for all things document design. Lately I have become fairly familiar with the software, as I’ve been using it for school. I have used it to create an event flier, brochure, and take out menu, and at the moment am designing a short story collection, but more on that later.

Even as a student, it’s a good idea to have a business card, because it shows that extra step of professionalism and hard work. I found out that it does take a good amount of effort to create something as seemingly simple as a business card.

Here is what the file looks like on InDesign:

Business Card Screenshot

Cooley, A. (April 6, 2017). Business Card Screenshot [Screenshot]. 

For privacy, I left my actual email and phone number off, but you can still see the overall design, as well as the layout of InDesign. (The social media handle shown is my real one, since my social media is mostly public.)

I used the snipping tool to capture the two colors on my website (that’s the image to the left of the actual card shown above), so that my business card could fit with my overall theme. This was an attempt to maintain my own recognizable brand.

Here is the final result of my two-sided business card:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cooley, A. (April 6, 2017). Business Card Public [JPEG].

I am planning on adding to this in the future, once I have a professional job. However, I think it’s a pretty good start, and I hope it flows well with my website.

One last note, InDesign is very useful to know your way around. If you are familiar with Microsoft Publisher, like I was, it isn’t too hard to pick up. When I don’t know how to do something, I can almost always find a helpful YouTube tutorial.

I would greatly appreciate any constructive feedback about the design of my business card.

Leave a Reply

